Back to Library home page General Library Information Children's and Teens Websites View our program information Library Catalogue and Patron Function Databases Internet Links Community Links Contact Information
Boys & Girls Club of Orillia Children's Services Information Services Readers Advisory Teen Scene
Bookclubs Book Reviews New Titles Added Readers Advisory Links What to Read Next
About Us Community Involvement Information Services Membership Info. Programs Search For Books, Video, etc. Support Your Library
Annual Reports Board Members Contact Info. Employment Opportunities Membership Info New Library Building Newsletters Services Strategic Plans &  Reports Policies Support Your Library
Friends of the Library Housebound Patrons Local Artist Gallery Volunteers
Databases Interlibrary Loan Local History & Genealogy Search Engines & Websites
William Sword Frost Scrapbook
Bookclubs Lifescapes Monthly Programs
Library Catalogue NetLibrary Readers Advisory
Book Reviews New Titles What To Read Next
Adopt-a-book Donations of Books Financial Contributions Friends of the Library Volunteers
Children's Services Boys & Girls Club of Orillia Teen Scene
Adult Programs Childrens Programs Boys & girls Club of Orillia
Bookclubs Lifescapes Monthly Speakers
Library Catalogue Netlibrary
Ancestry.com Columbia Grangers Poetry Ebsco Host Historica Knowledge Ontario Novelist Orillia In Pictures Pages of the Past Proquest William Sword Frost Scrapbook World Book Online
City of Orillia Chamber of Commerce Georgian College Information Orillia Lakehead University Museum of Art & History Orillia Opera House Orillia Packet & Times Orillia Today Soldiers Mem. Hosp.
 
Quick links
Link to Public Library Civic Square Blog
Link to Orillia Big Read
Search our catalogue or check your patron records
View the databases
Link to Library Newsletter
Membership information
Link to William Sword Frost Scrapbook
Link to Rss feeds and Information
Link to wireless internet page
 
Book Reviews See what new titles we have added to our collection

Databases

Do you need help on searching a database? Not sure how to search effectively? Watch a short video clip on how to search a database and get the results you are looking for.  Click here for the video.

Please Note: You may occasionally get a "Page Unavailable" Message. If this happens simply click the refresh button on your toolbar at the top of your browser or right click on your mouse and choose refresh.

Ancestry.com

Every family has a story. Discover yours.

Search for your ancestors in Census records, immigration records, military records, historical newspapers and much more. You might even find an entire branch of your family tree.


Link to Career Cruising

Career Cruising

Career Cruising is an interactive career resource designed for people of all ages. If you want to find the right career, explore different career options, or plan future education and training, you've come to the right place!

Enter career cruising here...


Link to poetry database
Columbia Granger's Poetry

This premiere poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies and literary glossary terms

  • Looking up a poet's biography
  • Viewing commentaries on poems and poets by well respected scholars
  • Providing a glossary that answers questions about terms in poetry
  • Finding poems for speeches, reports, term papers, fundraising purposes, cards & letters
  • Refreshing the memory on well loved poems.

 

This database has been donated by the Friends of the Orillia Public Library


Link to ebsco host database Ebsco Host

The user-friendly EBSCOhost search interface allows for easy searching of full text magazines, journals, newspapers, newswires, transcripts, pamphlets, reports, biographies, primary source documents, almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, photos, maps, flags and more.


Eureka.cc

Aa powerful search and management tool that allows you to quickly find relevant content. In addition to all the current news, you can even access archives from the past 20 years for certain publications and the full versions of more than 80 million documents. You can conduct targeted searches by combining keywords, by restricting your results to particular publication dates and by selecting specific souces . Specifically, you can:

  • Perform searches among recognized sources using more than 20 operators (and, or, without, etc.) and numerous search keys (author, industry, subject, etc.)

  • Save your searches and forward the results directly to the appropriate parties

  • Access quality content from local, national and international sources

  • Benefit from a vast selection of newspapers, trade publications, databases (company histories and profiles), wire services, radio and television program transcripts, etc.

Automate your searches so that the results are automatically deposited into folders you’ve created

Enter Eureka.cc here...


Link to Historica database

Historica

Histori.ca is a bilingual educational website developed to promote the teaching and learning of Canadian history and heritage on behalf of the Historica Foundation. It includes access to the Canadian Encyclopedia and many others


Link to Knowledge Ontario database

Knowledge Ontario - by Thomson Gale

A wide selection of databases useful to schools, libraries, professionals, researchers, government institutions and organizations. Contains a wealth of Canadian and international periodicals — including Canada's national newspaper, The Globe and Mail; Maclean's weekly magazine; Canadian News Facts; and encyclopedic reference materials, such as the Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmak. There are also databases for health information. Something for everyone.


Link to Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online

For students, researchers, history buffs and literature lovers, there’s no better source than Literature Criticism Online to discover commentary on favourite books and plays by the scholars of the day.


Link to Novelist database

NoveList

Your guide to fiction. Searchable database of fiction for all ages. Use favourite authors or titles to find other authors or titles of interest. Search by words that describe the type of novel you would like to read, or browse theme-oriented book lists, award lists and numerous fiction/author related articles and Web sites. [EBSCO]


Link to Orilia In Pictures database

Orillia In Pictures

Search the Orillia Photograph Collection


Link to Pages of the past

Pages of the Past

Search through the Toronto Star Archives -
Please have your library card barcode ready to type in.


Link to Proquest database

Proquest

Search for articles from Canadian Newspapers and Magazines

Please Note: You may occasionally get a "Page Unavailable" Message. If this happens simply click the refresh button on your toolbar at the top of your browser or right click on your mouse and choose refresh.


Link to William Sword Frost database

William Sword Frost Scrapbook

View a whole scrapbook of local area pictures and information


Link to World Book on line

World Book On-line

The Premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more.


Also available as on-line resources

Link to ebooks

NetLibrary e-Books
Thousands of full-text electronic editions of published books. Register with netLibrary at any Orillia Public Library location, then search, borrow, read and return e-books at your home , cottage or office computer.

Mission Statement
web counter blogger.com
Home | Email Us |Copyright  © 2008 Orillia Public Library
Orillia Public Library, 500, Gill St. Orillia, Ontario, L3V 4L1 (705) 325-2338