Board & Management

Orillia Public Library Board

The Library Board provides oversight and guidance to the library.      

 Gay Guthrie - Chair                                                                            

Joanna Rolland - Vice Chair

Jim Duncan - Trustee

Don Evans - Trustee

Karen Hewitt - Trustee

Peter Hislop - Trustee

Tony Madden - City Council Representative

Mort Seymour - Trustee

Paul Spears - City Council Representative

Suzanne Campbell (Library CEO) - Secretary



The Library Board of Trustee meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of every month at 7:00 p.m. (except July and August) at the Orillia Public Library.  The meetings are open to the public.

 *We are currently recruiting new Board Members.  New deadline for applications is 12:00pm on Friday, December 19, 2014. 
View the City of Orillia website for more information and to download an application.
View our brochure for more information on being an Orillia Public Library Board Member.

Procedures for Becoming a Board Member

The Orillia Public Library Board has eleven members who serve for a four year term concurrent with Orillia City Council  The Board is composed of:

  • 2 City Council Representatives
  • 7 Citizens-at-large appointed by Council
  • The City Council representative is chosen by Council when it takes office after a municipal election.  Orillia City Council advertises the Library Board openings for Citizens-at large in the local newspaper prior to each municipal election. Any interested citizen is free to apply to Council by letter for a seat on the Board. If openings occur on the Library Board during its term of office, new appointees are selected in the manner described above. 

Contact Information

Mailing Address

Orillia Public Library Board
36 Mississaga Street West
Orillia, ON
L3V 3A6

Email the Library Board 

Phone: Suzanne Campbell, CEO, 705-325-2338